QUILLFYRE’S #15 OULIPOST PRISONER’S CONSTRAINT

Quillfyre

Ouliposter-Badge-Plum-300x300

Today from the Oulipost Project bag of tricks:

Imagine a prisoner whose supply of paper is restricted. To put it to fullest use, he will maximize his space by avoiding any letter extending above or below the line (b, d,f,g,h,j,k,l,p,q,t and y) and use only a,c,e,i, m,n,o,r,s,u,v,w,x and z. Compose a poem using only words that can be made from these letters AND which you source from your newspaper text.

I chose two interesting articles, one from the Arts section, a movie review of Sweet Dreams, and from the Business Section, a piece on 10 rules of Roman armies.  Didn’t work out quite as planned. Of course I didn’t realize that neither Sweet nor Dreams was going to make the cut. Not sure why I missed that! When I had my poem almost done, I also realized the tool I used had let some “d” words slip through, so…

View original post 136 more words

Leave a Reply

